Discrimination in Dictionary Pricing?

I was thinking about getting a pocket German-English dictionary. I was looking at the classic yellow Langenscheidt ones, and I noticed that there’s both an “Englisch” and an “Amerikanisches Englisch” one. However, I noticed something alarming! The Amerikanisches Englisch one is €11.99, while the regular Englisch one is €9.99. Why the disparity? I even compared page numbers (about the same), and publishing dates (a year apart). Hmpf. Oh well, either was more than I wanted to pay, so I left dictionary-less.

20160315_140638

Leave a Reply

